Gwyneth Walker

Beneath the Blue Ridge

for Clarinet, Violin, and Cello (2017)

Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog

View/download a PDF file of the score of this work.
View/download a PDF file of the parts of this work.

Beneath the Blue Ridge is subtitled "an homage to the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia" and is dedicated to the musicians at Eastern Mennonite University (Harrisonburg, Virginia) and especially to Musica Harmonia (Joan Griffing, Violin, Leslie Nicholas, Clarinet, and Beth Vanderborgh, Cello)

1. Shadow of the Mountains: There is a vastness to these mountains, and an open landscape. The mountains cast a protective shadow over the valley below.

2. Motion - Cycling in the Mountains: The wind brings motion. A bicyclist speeds by, down the mountain roads, along the valley.

3. Valley of Peace: From a distance, the mountains are viewed with reverence. There is a stillness - the gift of profound peace. The valley offers shelter and comfort. This peaceful beauty speaks in ecstasy.

Notes by the composer