Gwyneth Walker

Evening Magic

for Oboe and Piano (2004)

Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog

View/download a PDF file of selected sample pages from this work.

Evening Magic is the final movement of The Magic Oboe, a concerto for oboe and orchestra. It was composed for the Susquehanna Symphony Orchestra, Sheldon Bair, Music Director, and especially for Oboist, Judith Famous, Havre de Grace, Maryland. This movement was arranged into a separate work for oboe and piano.

"Evening Magic" -- sounds at dusk, a serenade, the sunset, stars, shooting stars. The quiet of evening unfolds. Ultimately, the magical brilliance of the night lends its energy to the music.

Notes by the composer