Gwyneth Walker

Fanfare Among Friends

for Brass Quintet (2012)

Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog

Fanfare Among Friends was composed for the Nebraska Brass for their 25th anniversary season, 2012-13. This is joyous music of a tightly-knit construction, intended for players who work well together! The introductory measures build chords through layered entrances, a technique selected to demonstrate the comfortable "give and take" among the players. In the middle section, these rapidly alternating entrances are increased for virtuosic brilliance.

The theme itself is tonal and straightforward. There is a fresh spirit to be found among friends, even after 25 years of musical collaboration!

Notes by the composer