Gwyneth Walker

Let There Be Music!

for Orchestra (2022)

Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog

View/download a PDF file of the full score of this orchestral work.

Orchestra parts are available upon request. Please write to with performance inquiries.

a festive overture in celebration of Maestro David Kidwell's 25th season as Music Director of the Holyoke Civic Symphony (1997-2022)

During the pandemic years of 2020-2021, the Holyoke (MA) Civic Symphony, like many other orchestras, remained silent. Their performance venue at Holyoke Community College was closed. Group gatherings were avoided.

Yet the orchestra, under the leadership of their Music Director, David Kidwell, managed to keep their shared love of music alive. Online discussions, player profiles and chamber music videos were among the ways that group interaction was maintained.

Finally, during the Fall of 2021, it was possible to bring the orchestra back to their auditorium. Even though this first concert featured only chamber ensembles, the audience was thrilled to experience live music once again. When the players first walked onto the stage, they were greeted with a standing ovation.

This overture was inspired by this memorable concert. Let there be music!

Notes by the composer