Gwyneth Walker

Silver Anniversary Concert Lives Up To Expectations

by Claire Fern, The Hardwick Gazette, Hardwick, Vermont

Return to Gwyneth Walker Home Page
Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog
Return to Gwyneth Walker Recordings Page
Read notes for Craftsbury Trio (1990) for piano trio

Flowers, original music and appreciative concert-goers marked Thursday's 25th anniversary of The Craftsbury Chamber Players. The official celebration of the anniversary was held after the concert, but a festive mood permeated the Town House throughout the evening.

The highlight of the evening was the world premiere of Craftsbury Trio for violin, cello, and piano by Vermont composer Gwyneth Walker. The piece was commissioned by the players in celebration of their 25th season. Playing were Mary Rowell, violin, Victoria Kintner, violin, and Mary Anthony Cox, piano.

The first movement "Up Country Toccata" was a lively introduction to the mood of the piece and did remind one of the feeling of life in the Northeast Kingdom. The theme or melody in the second movement, "The Lark in the Morning," was highlighted by the playing of the cello with the violin and piano skillfully augmenting the sound. The last two movements "You Can Buy It at the General Store" and "Craftsbury Common," were played together without any break.

The first part has some playful passages and evokes rummaging through a country store. The second part clearly inspires images of the beauty and openness of the countryside. The cello had a full sweet sound and the piano and violin highlighted the haunting quality of the music and the essence of the composition. Walker was in the audience and received an enthusiastic ovation from the audience and the players.

From The Hardwick Gazette, Hardwick, Vermont, August 1, 1990