Gwyneth Walker

Suddenly Calm

for Piano Trio (2017)

Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog

Download a PDF file of the full score of this composition.
Download a PDF file of the instrumental parts of this composition.

As a gentle New England composer, I think of the special beauty of a peaceful landscape, or of catching one's breath when unexpectedly coming upon a quiet meadow -- a clearing in the woods.

I was reminded of the lines from the W. B. Yeats's poem "The Lake Isle of Innisfree"

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow

I believe that many of us would value some of this peace dropping slowly into our daily lives. And thus I have created Suddenly Calm. Here there is time, there is quiet.

Notes by the composer