Gwyneth Walker

Wake Up

for Violin (1992)

Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog

Download a PDF file of the full score of this composition. This score may be printed and duplicated for the purposes of performances. However, please send a message to, notifying us of the date/location of the performance. Note: This score is in reduced size so as to fit on letter (8.5 x 11) paper. For performance, it is advisable to enlarge the score pages on a photocopier.

Wake Up is a short work for solo violin. The music initiates with thematic fragments, separated by pauses. Gradually, the pauses are eliminated, and the theme comes to life (awakens).

The one central motive, based on a G minor tonality, returns many times throughout the work, each time engendering new developments. These excursions become increasingly far-ranging and energetic. The final patterns accelerate and crescendo into a glissando off the end of the fingerboard.

Wake Up is a freely non-metrical work, notated without barlines throughout.

Notes by the composer